MRC Pontiac Logo

MRC Pontiac

Our Future Together

MRC Residents

ARE YOU A RESIDENT?

Explore essential municipal resources, services, and information tailored to meet the needs of residents in the MRC Pontiac.

ARE YOU A BUSINESS?

We support and empower local enterprises with valuable tools, opportunities, and resources to thrive and succeed.

MRC Visitors

ARE YOU A VISITOR?

Whether you're a familiar face or visiting us for the first time, discover the region of the MRC Pontiac and all that it has to offer!

Welcome to the MRC Pontiac

The MRC Pontiac is a collection of 18 individual municipalities and one unorganized territory that stretches from the north shores of the Ottawa River deep into the arboreal forests of central Québec. 

The Pontiac is a haven for nature enthusiasts and adventure seekers. From hiking, hunting and camping in lush forests to fishing and boating in tranquil waters, the area provides ample opportunities to connect with nature and escape the hustle and bustle of urban life. 

Agriculture is also a vital part of the MRC Pontiac’s economy and cultural heritage. Our fertile lands and favorable climate support the cultivation of various crops and livestock farming, including a long history of dairy production. The agricultural sector sustains the local community with fresh produce while preserving a deep-rooted rural tradition and identity.

We hope you enjoy exploring our new website and learning all of what the MRC Pontiac has to offer residents, businesses and visitors alike!

.

MRC Pontiac Logo

Our Region

We are the “Wild West” of the Outaouais region of Québec with thousands of square kilometers untouched by civilization. We’re a perfectly bilingual area that welcomes visitors in both of Canada’s official languages. We are a community that cares about our neighbours, building our future together. 

Fast Facts

Learn about the MRC Pontiac through numbers!

Fast Facts - The MRC Pontiac
Square kilometers of space to grow.
0
People in the Pontiac
Neighbours who live in the Pontiac.
0
Fast Facts Municipalities
Individual municipalities
0
Fast Facts - Unorganized Territory
Unorganized Territory
0
MRC Pontiac map

Our Municipalities

The MRC Pontiac comprises 18 unique municipalities, each contributing to the rich tapestry of our region. From bustling towns and villages to the serenity of nature, each municipality offers its own array of attractions and amenities, making the MRC Pontiac an exciting and varied destination to live and visit.  Check their each municipality’s website below!

TNO Lac Nilgaut

More than 70% of the land area of the MRC Pontiac is taken up by TNO (Territoire Non-Organisé) Lac Nilgaut. Encompassing more than 9,500 square kilometers, the TNO is largely unexplored and untouched by human hands.  

Although logging is the main economic activity of the region, the TNO is often visited by residents and tourists alike who desire to get away from civilization and spend some time in nature.  The TNO is a destination for big game hunters and sport fishers who visit one of the many Outfitters in the area throughout the year.

Of the entire region, 54.2 % of the TNO’s public lands are still “free land”.  Outfitters have exclusive rights to 33% and the remaining is part of the La Vérendrye Wilderness Reserve – one of Québec’s largest wildlife reserves.

With no permanent residents, the TNO falls under the jurisdiction of the MRC Pontiac itself, who administers the region through the TNO council. 

.

I am Looking For...

Close Search Window

MRC de Pontiac

Notre avenir ensemble

MRC Residents

ÊTES-VOUS UN RÉSIDENT?

Explorez les ressources municipales essentielles, les services et l'information sur votre propriété adaptés aux besoins des résidents de la MRC de Pontiac.

MRC Businesses

ÊTES-VOUS UNE ENTREPRISE?

Nous soutenons les entreprises locales et leur donnons les moyens de prospérer et de réussir en leur fournissant des outils, des opportunités et des ressources.

MRC Visitors

ÊTES-VOUS UN VISITEUR?

Que vous soyez un habitué ou que vous nous rendiez visite pour la première fois, découvrez la région de la MRC de Pontiac et tout ce qu'elle a à vous offrir!

Bienvenue sur le site de la MRC de Pontiac

La MRC de Pontiac est un regroupement de 18 municipalités et d’un territoire non organisé qui s’étend de la rive nord de la rivière des Outaouais jusqu’aux forêts arborescentes du centre du Québec.

Le Pontiac est un havre de paix pour les amateurs de nature et d’aventure. De la randonnée, la chasse ou du camping dans des forêts luxuriantes à la pêche et à la navigation de plaisance dans des eaux tranquilles, la région offre de nombreuses possibilités de se rapprocher de la nature et d’échapper à l’agitation de la vie urbaine.

L’agriculture est également un élément essentiel de l’économie et du patrimoine culturel de la MRC de Pontiac. Nos terres fertiles et notre climat  favorisent la culture de divers produits et l’élevage de bétail, y compris une longue tradition de production laitière. Le secteur agricole approvisionne nos communautés locales en produits frais tout en préservant une tradition et une identité rurale profondément enracinées.

Nous espérons que vous prendrez plaisir à explorer notre nouveau site Internet et à découvrir tout ce que la MRC de Pontiac a à offrir aux résidents, aux entreprises et aux visiteurs!

.

Notre région

Nous sommes le “Far West” de la région de l’Outaouais au Québec avec des milliers de kilomètres carrés vierges de toute civilisation. Nous sommes une région parfaitement bilingue qui accueille les visiteurs dans les deux langues officielles du Canada. Nous sommes une grande communauté qui se soucie de ses voisins et qui construit son avenir ensemble.

En bref

Découvrez la MRC de Pontiac en chiffres!

Fast Facts - The MRC Pontiac
Des kilomètres carrés d'espace pour se développer.
0
People in the Pontiac
Les voisins qui vivent dans le Pontiac.
0
Fast Facts Municipalities
Municipalités individuelles
0
Fast Facts - Unorganized Territory
Territoire non organisé
0

Événements

Conseil de la MRC

Séances des conseils de la MRC de Pontiac et du TNO

Conseil de la MRC
avril 17, 2024
18:30 - 20:30


Lire la suite >>
Conseil de la MRC

Séances des conseils de la MRC de Pontiac et du TNO

Conseil de la MRC
mai 15, 2024
18:30 - 20:30


Lire la suite >>
Conseil de la MRC

Séances des conseils de la MRC de Pontiac et du TNO

Conseil de la MRC
juin 19, 2024
18:30 - 20:30


Lire la suite >>
Conseil de la MRC

Séances des conseils de la MRC de Pontiac et du TNO

Conseil de la MRC
août 21, 2024
18:30 - 20:30


Lire la suite >>
MRC Pontiac map

Nos Municipalités

La MRC de Pontiac comprend 18 municipalités uniques, chacune contribuant à la diversité de notre région. Des villes et villages animés à la sérénité de la nature, chaque municipalité offre son propre éventail d’attractions et de services, faisant de la MRC de Pontiac une destination passionnante et variée à vivre et à visiter. Consultez le site Internet de chaque municipalité ci-dessous!

TNO de Lac-Nilgaut

Plus de 70 % du territoire de la MRC de Pontiac est occupé par le TNO (territoire non organisé) de Lac-Nilgaut. S’étendant sur plus de 9 500 kilomètres carrés, le TNO est largement inexploré et n’a pas été touché par la main de l’homme.

Bien que l’exploitation forestière soit la principale activité économique de la région, le TNO est souvent visité par des résidents et des touristes désireux de s’éloigner de la civilisation et de passer du temps dans la nature.  Le TNO est une destination pour les chasseurs de gros gibier et les pêcheurs sportifs qui visitent l’une des nombreuses pourvoiries de la région tout au long de l’année.

Sur l’ensemble de la région, 54,2 % des terres publiques du TNO sont encore des “terres libres”. Les pourvoiries ont des droits exclusifs sur 33 % du territoire, le reste faisant partie de la réserve faunique La Vérendrye, l’une des plus grandes réserves fauniques du Québec.

Sans résidents permanents, le TNO relève de la compétence de la MRC de Pontiac elle-même, qui administre la région par l’intermédiaire du Conseil des maires de la MRC.

.

Je cherche...

Close Search Window